by emhic2021


The DMHAT Assessment

Introductory Guide

To get started, we suggest you download the DMHAT Guide. When you are ready to explore the assessment tools, register to gain access to the online and downloadable Self-Assessment tools, and join the Collaborative.

The Digital Mental Health and Addiction Tool (DMHAT) Guide is intended to support anyone involved in the design and development of digital tools to deliver robust and appropriate options for our whānau, communities and populations.

The guide explains the entire evaluation process and includes all relevant references and rationales for each step of the assessment.

The components of the DMHAT assessment

The DMHAT assessment is made up of three main sections:

  1. General product information.
  2. Baseline review, which has been designed to align with current best practice standards and encompasses assessment criteria that are widely used across most app and digital solution assessment pathways internationally.
  3. Aotearoa New Zealand enhanced review, which assesses elements such as cultural safety, social responsibility, equity and data sovereignty that are more specific to the Aotearoa New Zealand context.

The assessment includes an explanation of the four-level, risk-based hierarchy to determine the appropriate assessment requirements for each digital tool. This ranges from simple informational wellbeing apps at level one through to complex digital tools at level four that need to meet more stringent technical and security standards given their integration with health records or functionality as a medical device.

Register with DMHAT

Registration is required to allow full access to the current beta DMHAT self-assessment, and will also give us a way to keep you updated as this is developed further.